An Odoo MCP server is software that exposes Odoo models and methods as MCP tools. On 20 October 2026 we found ten open-source servers on GitHub, two open or source-available modules that run inside Odoo, and Odoo's own Enterprise MCP server. The table summarises what each README states; we did not run each server against a live database, so treat versions and features as the authors' claims.
Standalone open-source servers
Stars and last push are from the GitHub API on 20 October 2026.
| Repository | License | Stars | Last push | Read / write | Odoo versions (README) | Transport | Notable safety controls |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| erpipe-org/mcp-odoo | MIT | 424 | 2026-08-25 | Read by default; writes only through an approval-token flow | 16–19 | stdio, Streamable HTTP | Writes off unless enabled, method allow-list, policy file, confirmation, JSONL audit log, field allow/deny |
| ivnvxd/mcp-server-odoo | MPL-2.0 | 406 | 2026-10-18 | Create, update, delete, opt-in method calls | 16+ | stdio, Streamable HTTP | Per-model permissions via companion Odoo module, read-only mode, record limits |
| pantalytics/odoo-mcp-pro | Elastic 2.0 + MPL-2.0 (source-available) | 87 | 2026-10-19 | Full CRUD | 14–20 | stdio, Streamable HTTP | Relies on Odoo access rights |
| rosenvladimirov/odoo-claude-mcp | AGPL-3.0 | 51 | 2026-09-30 | Full, large tool set | 15–19 | HTTP (Docker) | Per-user profiles, OAuth, IP allow-list, two-factor login |
| hachecito/odoo-mcp-improved | MIT | 48 | 2025-12-12 | Writes orders and journal entries | Not stated | Not stated | None documented |
| marcfargas/odoo-toolbox | LGPL-3.0 | 43 | 2026-05-05 | Read, create, write; no delete | Tested on 17 | stdio, HTTP | Read-only by default, per-model policy, URL allow-list, audit log |
| rachmataditiya/odoo-rust-mcp | AGPL-3.0 | 14 | 2026-09-14 | Writes behind a flag | Below 19 and 19+ | stdio, Streamable HTTP, SSE | Write flag, configurable tool list |
| AlanOgic/odoo-mcp-19 | MIT | 11 | 2026-10-05 | Any ORM method through one tool | 19+ | stdio, Streamable HTTP | Risk classes, single-use confirmation token, blocked models, locked mode |
| FGRibreau/mcp-odoo | MIT | 5 | 2026-10-01 | Full CRUD | 16+ | stdio, Streamable HTTP | Read-only flag |
| Vauxoo/mcp.odoo | MIT | 3 | 2026-10-08 | Full, including delete | 8.0–19.0+ | stdio | Owner-only credential file |
Modules that run inside Odoo
| Module | License | Odoo versions | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
Odoo ai_mcp (Odoo's own) |
Odoo Enterprise (OEEL-1) | 20, Odoo Online saas-19.4+ | Endpoint <database>/mcp, OAuth or API key with MCP scope. Tools are server actions; read tools are exposed by default, create and update must be exposed by an administrator. Docs |
OCA/ai ai_oca_mcp |
AGPL-3 | 16.0 merged; 17–19 ports in open pull requests | JSON-RPC over HTTP, per-client bearer keys, request log |
mcp_server on apps.odoo.com |
OPL-1 | Listed for 16–20 | Companion module for ivnvxd's server: per-model permissions, audit log, OAuth or bearer keys |
The Odoo Apps Store lists further third-party MCP modules for Odoo 19. We did not review their licences or code.
How to read the differences
Write model
The biggest difference. Generic execute_kw access means the model can call any method the Odoo user can. An allow-list with confirmation narrows that to named actions.
Odoo API used
Servers for 16–18 use XML-RPC or JSON-RPC. Newer ones use JSON-2 on Odoo 19. Odoo plans to remove XML-RPC and JSON-RPC in Odoo 22 (fall 2028), so check the server's plan for that.
Transport and auth
stdio servers run on the user's computer with the key in an environment variable. HTTP servers can serve a team, but several have no built-in client authentication, so they need a proxy or VPN in front.
Licence
MIT, MPL and LGPL are permissive enough for most internal use. AGPL obliges you to share modifications if you offer the server over a network. Elastic 2.0 is source-available, not open source, and restricts offering it as a service.
Hosted options
Several companies offer hosted Odoo MCP servers, often built on one of the projects above. We did not evaluate them. When comparing, ask the same questions as for open source: which Odoo user the service acts as, whether writes need confirmation, whether changes can be undone, where the audit log lives and in which region the service runs.
We also run a hosted, multi-tenant Odoo MCP server, currently in pilot. It works with Odoo 16 to 20, Community and Enterprise, uses each person's own Odoo API key, provides read tools plus write actions that require confirmation and can be undone, and logs every action. A self-hosted setup is possible for companies that want it on their own server. You can request a pilot.
Which option fits?
| Situation | Reasonable starting point |
|---|---|
| Developer exploring on a test database | Any stdio server above, read-only mode |
| Odoo 20 Enterprise or Odoo Online 19.4+ | Odoo's own MCP server, expose only the tools you need |
| Odoo 16–19, team use, production data | A server with writes off by default, confirmation and audit, self-hosted or hosted |
| Odoo Online Standard plan | None: external API access requires the Custom plan |
Before choosing, read the security model and run the server through MCP Inspector as shown in the setup guide.
Compare options for your Odoo
Tell us your Odoo version and hosting, and whether you need write actions. We reply by e-mail.
Frequently asked questions
Does Odoo S.A. publish an open-source MCP server?
No. Odoo's own MCP server is the ai_mcp module in the Enterprise code base, licensed under the Odoo Enterprise license. It is documented for Odoo 20 and Odoo Online saas-19.4. There is no standalone MCP server repository under the odoo organisation on GitHub.
Which open-source Odoo MCP server is the most used?
By GitHub stars on 20 October 2026, erpipe-org/mcp-odoo, formerly tuanle96/mcp-odoo, had 424 and ivnvxd/mcp-server-odoo had 406. All others had fewer than 100. Stars measure attention, not quality or security, so review the code and the write controls.
Is a server with full create, write and delete tools a problem?
Not for a developer on a test database. For a team on production data it is a risk, because a model can be steered by text stored in Odoo. Prefer servers with writes off by default, an allow-list of methods, confirmation and no delete.
Do these servers need a module installed in Odoo?
Most connect only through the external API with an API key. ivnvxd/mcp-server-odoo expects its companion mcp_server module in standard mode, and the OCA ai_oca_mcp and Odoo's ai_mcp run inside Odoo by design.